TurnerTurner Cotterman, Co-President

Turner is working towards his M.S. in the Technology and Policy Program. He is interested in universal access to electricity, rural electrification, and renewable energy systems. His research involves developing electrical components within the Reference Electrification Model to be applied to case studies around the world. He is intent on using policy, economic, and technical domains to promote a cleaner energy infrastructure.
Prior to arriving at MIT, he worked for ISO New England in western Massachusetts and conducted research in the Real-Time Power and Intelligent Systems Lab in Clemson, SC. He received his B.S. in Electrical Engineering at Clemson University.

ArunArun Singh, Co-President

Arun is a second year master’s student in the Technology and Policy Program. He works at the MIT Joint Program on the Science and Policy of Global Change developing a computable general equilibrium model of the Indian economy to analyze impacts of climate policies on economy, energy systems, and household equity. Prior to MIT, Arun was a researcher at the Abdul Latif Jameel Poverty Action Lab.

RichardRichard Swartwout, Treasurer

Richard is a second year PhD student in the Department of Electrical Engineering. Previously, He received his B.S. in Materials Engineering from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in May of 2015. His current work is focused on developing manufacturing techniques for large area, thin film colloidal quantum dots and organometallic perovskite solution processed solar cells.

StephenStephen Lee, Editor and Media Coordinator

Stephen is a second year Master’s student in the Technology and Policy Program and Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. He received Bachelor’s degrees in Economics and Materials Science and Engineering from Johns Hopkins University in 2013 and worked in management consulting after graduating. Stephen’s current research involves the application of engineering modelling, machine learning, and inferencing techniques to electrification planning. He is interested in data science, energy economics and policy, and muffins.

Please contact us at e4dev-request@mit.edu if you are interested in applying for a leadership position!


Special thanks to the 2015-2016 e4Dev leadership team: Varun Mehra, Amy Rose, Michael Birk, Patricia Levi, Max Luke, and Neha Nandakumar!